Chakra means “wheel”, and it refers to various energy points on your body. It is thought that chakras are spinning disks of energy that should remain open and aligned. Chakras correspond with bundles of nerves and major organs, as well as areas of the body that affect our emotional and physical wellbeing. 

There are seven main chakras--though you might have heard of these chakras, you may not be aware that they can also correspond to birthdays. Chakra bracelets and necklaces, along with I Am One Mind mugs, can help you to keep your seven chakras open and aligned, both during your birthday and throughout the year. Here are the seven chakras organized by your birthday, and facts about each chakra that you should be aware of. 

Root Chakra: Born on the 1st-4th

The root chakra is located on the base of the spine, near the tailbone area. This chakra is represented by the color red, and its true meaning is physical identity, stability, and grounding. You can visualize the root chakra as the foundation of a house--when this chakra is in balance, it is sturdy, stabilizing, and supportive. 

This chakra is responsible for your sense of security and survival, and allows you to let go of fear and feel safe and secure. The root chakra is associated with the element of earth. Signs that your root chakra is blocked include feelings of anxiety, as well as feeling insecure and unsafe. You may suffer from irrational fears and nightmares when your root chakra is blocked. It can also manifest in more physical issues such as arthritis, constipation, and bladder or colon problems. When your chakra is in alignment, you will feel more grounded.

Sacral Chakra: Born on the 5th-9th

The sacral chakra is located just below the belly button and above the pubic bone. It is represented by the color orange, and its true meaning centers around sexuality, pleasure, and creativity. Many consider this chakra to be the most fun out of the seven chakras. 

When your sacral chakra is aligned, you will be feeling friendly and passionate, while also experiencing feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and joy. This chakra gives you the ability to honor and love your body. It is associated with the element of water. If this chakra is blocked, you will feel uninspired creatively, or emotionally unstable. It can also manifest in a low libido and a fear of change, depression, or addiction-like behaviors.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Born on the 10th-13th

The solar plexus chakra is located in the upper abdomen, around your stomach area. It is represented by the color yellow, and it’s deeper meaning revolves around self-esteem and confidence. 

This chakra is your source of individual power, and rules over self-esteem. It focuses on individual willpower, personal power, and commitment. It is represented by the element fire. If this chakra is blocked, you may experience digestive issues such as ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. You will also suffer from lower self-esteem, struggle to make decisions, and have anger or control issues. A blocked solar plexus chakra causes self-doubt and hides our most authentic self. 

Heart Chakra: Born on the 14th-18th

The heart chakra is located in the center of your chest, just above your heart. It is represented by the color green, and its deeper meaning is love and compassion. It is associated with the element air. 

This chakra represents where the physical and the spiritual meet, and it is all about love. When your heart chakra is open and balanced, love and compassion will flow freely. If your heart chakra is blocked, you may experience feelings of grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred towards yourself and others. If this chakra is overactive, you may become too loving and co-dependent. Blocks in this chakra can also manifest in your physical health through issues such as heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. 

Throat Chakra: Born on the 19th-22nd

The throat chakra is located in the base of the throat. It is represented by the color blue and is all about communication and inspiration. It is associated with the element ether. The throat chakra is representative of speaking your inner truth, or rather ensuring that your inner truths are properly communicated. 

It is the first of three chakras that represent spirituality, and does not manifest itself in physical ways at the same level that other chakras do. When this chakra is blocked, you might find it hard to express yourself, pay attention and stay focused, or ignore the judgement of others.

Third Eye Chakra: Born on the 23rd-27th

The third eye chakra is located between the eyes, on the forehead. It is also known as the “brow chakra” for this reason. The third eye chakra is represented by the color indigo and the element of light. Its deeper meaning is that of intuition and imagination. This chakra governs your intuition and gives you the ability to recognize and tap into this chakra. The third eye is also responsible for things between you and the outside world, and acts as a bridge between the two. With the third eye chakra, you can see the bigger picture in a more clear light. When this chakra is blocked, you will have trouble reaching your intuition and trusting your inner voice. If your lower chakras are unbalanced along with this chakra, you may find yourself being more judgemental, dismissive, and introverted. 

Crown Chakra: Born on the 28th-31st

The crown chakra is the final of seven chakras, and is located at the very top of your head, making it all about your mind. It is represented by the color violet, and it has no associated element. 

The deeper meaning of this chakra is that of awareness and intelligence. This chakra is the center of enlightenment and our spiritual connection to our higher self, others, and the divine. When this chakra is aligned, the realizations that occur within you are ones of pure awareness and consciousness. If this chakra is blocked, you might be feeling apathetic and listless, as though you are energetically numb. You will feel disconnected from yourself, others, and the world at large. This chakra can often only be opened up through specific yogic or meditative exercises.